Tags

, , , , ,

This weekend, my husband was off for the entire weekend – this, my friends is a rare occurrence.  Before I share with you our “date” night, Vince wanted me to update you on how his cooking test went.

The night before was a horrible night’s sleep – he was so excited/nervous that he tossed and turned for most of the night.  But he went in and did his thing, and when he called after it was all over with, he said “I did okay..but I didn’t hit it out of the park or anything.”  Since Vince loves to play softball, and always aims for the fence when he’s up to bat, I knew that he was disappointed in himself.  So he gave me the run down of what the panel said he did well, and what needed improvement.  In the end, we were both relieved it was over with, and he felt he did his best.  That’s all he can really ask of himself, and me of him, and I reminded him of how proud I was of him and all the effort  and thought he put into preparing for this test.  Besides, as my mom pointed out, promotions shouldn’t be judged just on a test but also how you perform every day and I totally agree.

So that evening, we had a change of plans and decided to head out to the Gladstone Hotel for the “Come Up to My Room” exhibit. On our way, we stopped into a couple of furniture stores on Queen St. (hello, Design Republic and cb2!) and tested out sectionals and gazed at bed frames.  The exhibit at the Gladstone Hotel is where they set aside a block of rooms and have artists and designers re-create the space.  It was fun seeing all of these expressions of creativity and it was a different thing for Vince and I to do on a date.

We were supposed to eat there, too but Vince was hoping for something more exciting, so we headed to Pizzeria Libretto’s on Ossington, my absolute favourite pizzeria!   While apparently they got rid of the bruschetta of the day (which in previous years included prosciutto, with ricotta and arugula – so you can imagine how disappointed we were to hear that they no longer did this), the calamari was crispy (though a tad chewy) and went nicely with the roasted red pepper and white bean puree it sat on, and the pizza – both the andouille sausage, basil and mozzerella on tomato sauce, as well as the porchetta on white sauce with crackling on top, was so incredibly satisfying!  They cook all their pizzas in a wood oven, Neapolitan style, with a thin crust and tasty sauces and fresh ingredients.  My mouth is salivating thinking about it again….and while you might think 1.25 hours is a long time to wait for a table, let me assure you that it is worth it (especially if you duck into a nearby bar for a nice drink beforehand).

Impromptu nights like this don’t happen often, and when it does we try to make the most of it.  A friend had mentioned that we should commit to a date night at least once a week – even if it means heading home, ordering in, and cuddling on the couch to watch a movie.  While we haven’t made it “official,”  we definitely try to set aside time for each other (even if its only that half hour before bed) and make the most of these unexpected opportunities.

